Peebles Island State ParkThe 85,000 people who visit Peebles Island State Park annually will see AOW Associates, Inc in the process of making changes to the historic building located at the picturesque confluence of the Hudson and Mohawk rivers. The location along the major waterway was an ideal spot for Cluett Peabody & Company’s shirt bleaching facility, where the process to produce pre-shrunk garments was invented. While it was a huge operation at the turn of the 20th century, time has slowly taken its toll on the Peebles Island Bleachery, built in 1911. Currently, Peebles Island serves as the New York State Office of Parks, Recreation and Historic Preservation’s headquarters for researching, restoring and preserving historic sites and artifacts.
The 30,000 square foot building, which has been in disrepair for some time, is to be stabilized during this project, eventually resulting in the reuse of the structure. Working closely with the Office of Parks, Recreation and the Historic Preservation, AOW will shore the exterior walls and perform the removals of manufacturing equipment and interior timber structure along with the abatement of all hazardous materials.
The overall cost of the project will exceed $7,000,000. The design team consists of Clough Harbor and Associates, Syvertsen Architecture