The 85,000 people who visit Peebles Island State Park annually will see firsthand, the work AOW put into saving this historic building located at the picturesque confluence of the Hudson and Mohawk rivers.
The location along the major waterway was an ideal spot for Cluett Peabody & Company’s shirt bleaching facility, where the process to produce pre-shrunk garments was invented. While it was a huge operation at the turn of the 20th century, time slowly took its toll on the Peebles Island Bleachery, built in 1911. Currently, Peebles Island serves as the New York State Office of Parks, Recreation and Historic Preservation’s headquarters for researching, restoring and preserving historic sites and artifacts.
The 30,000 square foot building, which was in disrepair for decades, was stabilized during this project, eventually resulting in the reuse of the structure as storage. Working closely with the Office of Parks, Recreation and the Historic Preservation, AOW shored the exterior walls and performed the removals of manufacturing equipment, interior timber structures, as well as the abatement of hazardous materials. Post abatement, the building received a new steel structure, wood flooring, and a new roof.